Volunteer Spotlight(s): Mary S. and Lacy M.

At the Greensboro Science Center, we are honored to welcome approximately 750 volunteers each year, giving a cumulative 36,000+ hours of their time. With a friendly greeting and a warm smile, our volunteers help us carry out our mission each day, educating our visitors about our animals and exhibits and inspiring them to learn more.

Today we would like to introduce you to Mary S. and Lacy M.

mary-s-and-lacy-m

Mary S.

I have been volunteering at the Greensboro Science Center as an Animal Ambassador since June of this year.  I volunteer at least twice a month where I work at the Friendly Farm, the Touch Pool, the Aquarium cart, and the Herpetarium Cart.  

I visited the Science Center for many years as a child, and I have always loved seeing the animals and learning new things. When I heard about volunteer opportunities at the GSC, I was very excited because I have had many positive experiences at the Science Center. I have volunteered for many different organizations, so I thought I’d give volunteering at the GSC a try, and I have loved it so far!

Volunteering is fun and rewarding for me because I have gained new knowledge about animals, shared this knowledge with others, gained social skills, and met new people. Volunteering with the GSC is a fun way to help people and gain experience with animals.

Lacy M.

I have been volunteering for a really long time with different organizations, but I have been volunteering with the Greensboro Science Center since June 2016.

I volunteer a lot throughout the year, and I volunteer with the Greensboro Science Center, Autism Unbound, and Westminster Presbyterian Church.

I have always loved to volunteer, and I spent a lot of time as a child at the Greensboro Science Center, so when I found out that I was eligible to volunteer here, I was so eager to apply. I am so thankful that I am a volunteer at GSC and I would love to continue working in the future.

A meaningful memory that I have at GSC is when I was at the Aquarium Cart and I was teaching a big group of kids during the summer. They were all so interested in the artifacts and what I had to say, and I really appreciated it. It made me feel like I was special and that I truly belong here at the GSC.

Something that always makes me laugh at the Greensboro Science Center is when I am at the Herp Cart and I see people get scared when they walk in because of the rattlesnake sound. Even I get scared sometimes.

Watching people smile and learn things from me is really rewarding to see. To feel that I am impacting other people’s lives makes me feel really significant and valued. Working around the different animals is really fun as well and I hope to continue to work with them. I am so glad that I got the opportunity to work at GSC; this has been a life changing experience for me.  

Mary Slade and Lacy were the 2016 recipients of the Emerging Volunteers Award for the Volunteer Center of Greensboro. Along with their recognition, they received a $250 check that they donated to the Volunteer Program at the GSC. The money will be used to add new artifacts and activities to the Animal Ambassadors Aquarium and Herpetarium Carts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by greensborosciencecenter. Bookmark the permalink.

About greensborosciencecenter

The Greensboro Science Center offers three fascinating attractions in one wild destination! We are the only facility in North Carolina that offers an aquarium, museum, and zoo. Spend the day with us and come nose to beak with playful penguins, get eye to eye with awesome otters, explore the human body, experience Mother Nature’s fury and fun, and encounter exotic animals like gibbons, meerkats, and lemurs!

Leave a Reply

