Volunteer Spotlight: Morgan T.

We’d like to introduce you to Morgan T. , for this week’s volunteer spotlight. Check out her story below!

image

I have been volunteering at the Greensboro Science Center for two years as an Aquarium Docent. I try to volunteer at least four shifts each month which calculates to eight hours in the Aquarium.

What drew me to the Greensboro Science Center is my passion for marine biology and wanting to share my knowledge with others.  I have also been able to gain more knowledge of marine animals and their environment.

I will be attending college next year and studying Marine Biology so this opportunity provides me with a background for my intended major.  It is great to be able to meet new people and share what I have learned about the Aquarium animals.   Volunteering is also rewarding to me because I am able to mentor new Aquarium Docents and share with them the true duties of what it means to be a Volunteer.  This opportunity is also important to me because it  has allowed me to become more involved in my community. Lastly, volunteering  has improved  my communication skills and has given me confidence when it comes to public speaking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by greensborosciencecenter. Bookmark the permalink.

About greensborosciencecenter

The Greensboro Science Center offers three fascinating attractions in one wild destination! We are the only facility in North Carolina that offers an aquarium, museum, and zoo. Spend the day with us and come nose to beak with playful penguins, get eye to eye with awesome otters, explore the human body, experience Mother Nature’s fury and fun, and encounter exotic animals like gibbons, meerkats, and lemurs!

Leave a Reply

