Volunteer Spotlight: Paige A.

In this week’s Volunteer Spotlight, we’d like to introduce you to Paige A.

paige-a

I have been volunteering as an Exhibit Guide since the beginning of this summer 2016. My favorite place to volunteer is Health Quest, as I hope to pursue a career in medicine. I try to volunteer as often as I can, though my big family makes it fairly difficult. Ever since I was a little kid, I remember wanting to help at the Science Center. The first thing I wanted to do was help with the animals, because I really wanted to hold the hedgehog. After that I put volunteering on my bucket list, and when I heard about the teen program, I signed up immediately. Bucket list item complete!
When I was a little kid, I went to the Science Center all the time, and I practically know the place by heart. I remember running around the museum, saying, “I remember that! I remember that!” By the end of the day, I’d be carrying a picture of a dinosaur, tired and happy. When I walk into the Science Center now, I find myself hearing the balls dropping in the atrium, wanting to run around the place like I did then, and feeling a sense of happiness that I don’t get from anywhere else. It makes me truly happy to bring that kind of joy to little kids so that one day, they can have a special place like I do here at the Greensboro Science Center.

This entry was posted in Volunteers by greensborosciencecenter. Bookmark the permalink.

About greensborosciencecenter

The Greensboro Science Center offers three fascinating attractions in one wild destination! We are the only facility in North Carolina that offers an aquarium, museum, and zoo. Spend the day with us and come nose to beak with playful penguins, get eye to eye with awesome otters, explore the human body, experience Mother Nature’s fury and fun, and encounter exotic animals like tigers, meerkats, and lemurs!

Leave a Reply

