Volunteer Spotlight: Sam H.

At the Greensboro Science Center, we are honored to welcome approximately 750 volunteers each year, giving a cumulative 36,000+ hours of their time. With a friendly greeting and a warm smile, our volunteers help us carry out our mission each day, educating our visitors about our animals and exhibits and inspiring them to learn more.

This week, we’d like to introduce you to Sam H. Sam has been volunteering with us for just over a year.

Sam H

I have been a volunteer for one year, as of June, working as an Exhibit Guide in SciPlay Bay and Health Quest. There are also opportunities for me to work at special events like Pumpkin Palooza and the Tuxedo Trot. I tend to volunteer my required shifts and do more than required during the summer!

 

What drew me into volunteering is that I love to work with the public and children. My school, Wesleyan Christian Academy encourages us to volunteer and help the public.

 

Volunteering provides many funny experiences for us.  At the Tuxedo Trot 5K, I was cheering on people and we got to the end of the race. I thought there were some runners still coming and instead it was volunteers and I had no idea it was them! So I was cheering for them and excited for them to make the finish line. Then once I realized they were volunteers, we laughed!

 

What makes being part of the Volunteer Program rewarding for me is I get to serve the community. It’s also fun because I am in the know as to what happens at GSC before the public gets to know!

Leave a Reply

