Volunteer Spotlight: Mary F

At the Greensboro Science Center, we are honored to welcome approximately 750 volunteers each year, giving a cumulative 36,000+ hours of their time. With a friendly greeting and a warm smile, our volunteers help us carry out our mission each day, educating our visitors about our animals and exhibits and inspiring them to learn more.

This week, we’d like to introduce you to Mary F.

Mary F.

I have been volunteering at the Greensboro Science Center since October of 2014. During the school year, I volunteer almost every weekend as a Zoo Docent. During summer months, I volunteer one or two shifts a week in the zoo.

As a sophomore in high school, I was looking for a place to volunteer regularly. I was drawn to the Greensboro Science Center because I had been visiting there as a guest for my entire life. I didn’t want to volunteer just anywhere, I wanted to dedicate my time to helping others and contributing to a place that I adored and still be able to enjoy myself. I love animals, educating people about the world, and positive environments. The GSC was the perfect place to volunteer my time. It is a place that strives to do good for all types of people of all ages.

One memory I have of the GSC is of the time I was volunteering as the wallaby mascot for a special event. I spotted my teacher and her son while walking around as the wallaby, and immediately her son asked for a picture. My teacher was ecstatic because she knew it was me in the costume! The next day in class, she thanked me for spending the time to take a picture with her son. It was meaningful to me because it helped me make a memory with a teacher that has had a powerful impact in my life.

Volunteering is fun because I meet new people, have great conversations with guests who are interested in learning, and because it gives me something to do in my free time that involves science. It is rewarding to me because not only am I providing service to the community, but I am educating myself in many different areas. I am able to walk away each time I volunteer with a new lesson learned and a new memory that I can cherish.

Leave a Reply

