Volunteer Spotlight: Paulette W.

At the Greensboro Science Center, we are honored to welcome approximately 750 volunteers each year, giving a cumulative 36,000+ hours of their time. With a friendly greeting and a warm smile, our volunteers help us carry out our mission each day, educating our visitors about our animals and exhibits and inspiring them to learn more.

This week, we’d like to introduce you to Paulette W.

Paulette W.

Paulette says:

I have been volunteering at the Greensboro Science Center since January of 2015.  A typical volunteer commitment for me is 8-10 hours per month even though I work and go to school.  I’m a SciQuarium Docent and a BODIES REVEALED Exhibit Guide.  I also thoroughly enjoy helping out with events such as our Tuxedo Trot, See to Believe Gala and Brews & Bubbles.

Volunteering is always something that I have enjoyed, and have done so since I was 14. I have loved going to the GSC since I moved here in 2008 to attend Guilford College, so I figured I would volunteer in order to learn more about the animals and to be able to be a part of my local community. It’s also a plus that I get to come whenever I want to visit or volunteer. I also love being able to utilize the super fun SKYWILD!

The most rewarding aspect of volunteering for me is when I see what I have taught someone, particularly younger children, really makes a difference. I love being able to see a child take in information I am teaching them and see them utilize it – may it be more questions, or a smile, or perhaps they then teach their family what they just learned. That means more to me than most interactions. Also, I have met some genuinely great people through the GSC. I feel very comfortable and friendly with our volunteer coordinators as well as several volunteers in the Volunteer Program.  Events such as the Volunteer Appreciation Night really put an emphasis on such peer –to-peer interactions.

Leave a Reply

