Volunteer Spotlight: Christine S.

At the Greensboro Science Center, we are honored to welcome approximately 750 volunteers each year, giving a cumulative 36,000+ hours of their time. With a friendly greeting and a warm smile, our volunteers help us carry out our mission each day, educating our visitors about our animals and exhibits and inspiring them to learn more.

This week, we’d like to introduce you to Christine S. Christine has been volunteering for about two and a half years.  She volunteers once a week as a zoo docent and sometimes for special events.

Christine says, “I have been volunteering through my church as a faith formation teacher, in a grief support ministry and also for the Greensboro Youth Choir and I wanted to broaden where I volunteer.  I have always loved the GSC and started coming as a visitor before I even lived here, over 20 years ago.  I love all it has to offer to the public and have been impressed with the many positive changes, and knew I would be honored to be a part of this.”

Christine S

Christine says it doesn’t matter how many times you visit the GSC… each time is completely different and that is what makes volunteering so much fun.  “There is always someone that will make you smile, a child or an adult that says something funny about the animals.  The animals themselves can be funny and always are amazing to watch, and can also can make me smile or laugh.  It is so rewarding to be a part of that.”

“I also love when I can share something about the animals at the Science Center that someone didn’t know. Sometimes I’ll have an adult or teacher in a group come back to tell me that one of the children shared information they heard from me.  That is what we hope for, that information will be passed along.  That I can be a small part of that definitely makes volunteering fun and rewarding.”

This entry was posted in Volunteers and tagged , , by greensborosciencecenter. Bookmark the permalink.

About greensborosciencecenter

The Greensboro Science Center offers three fascinating attractions in one wild destination! We are the only facility in North Carolina that offers an aquarium, museum, and zoo. Spend the day with us and come nose to beak with playful penguins, get eye to eye with awesome otters, explore the human body, experience Mother Nature’s fury and fun, and encounter exotic animals like gibbons, meerkats, and lemurs!

Leave a Reply

