Volunteer Spotlight: Jacob K.

At the Greensboro Science Center, we are honored to welcome approximately 750 volunteers each year, giving a cumulative 36,000+ hours of their time. With a friendly greeting and a warm smile, our volunteers help us carry out our mission each day, educating our visitors about our animals and exhibits and inspiring them to learn more.

This week, we’d like to introduce you to Jacob K. Jacob tells us:

I have had the pleasure of being a Greensboro Science Center Docent since the beginning of 2014. After I had just turned 16 years old, I came across an advertisement for the recently opened SciQuarium. After being reminded of the memories from when I had visited the Greensboro Science Center as a young child, I soon looked into the possibility of getting regularly involved with the GSC.

One thing led to another and I was thrilled to finally be given the opportunity to serve as a Greensboro Science Center Zoo Docent Volunteer. Two years later, I am still delighted to get to regularly work with Greensboro Science Center staff and interact with many of the visitors who share the same joy for animals, learning, and the environment.

Jacob K Being able to volunteer in a zoo like the one at the Greensboro Science Center has always been a dream of mine. As a young child, I was always looking for new ways to help spread the word of the importance of environmental stewardship. For this reason, I love being able to not only talk to visitors about the species at the zoo, but also inspire many of the young children about the importance of conserving their planet. Favorite exhibits of mine include some of the endangered species such as the Javan Gibbon and our Tigers.

Although I have loved each and every minute I spend volunteering at the Greensboro Science Center, I will inevitably have to bid farewell at the end of this summer as I prepare to start my freshman year of college at Emory University where I currently plan to double-major in Environmental Science and Business Management. Until then, I continue to look forward to serving my community at the Greensboro Science Center.

This entry was posted in Volunteers and tagged by greensborosciencecenter. Bookmark the permalink.

About greensborosciencecenter

The Greensboro Science Center offers three fascinating attractions in one wild destination! We are the only facility in North Carolina that offers an aquarium, museum, and zoo. Spend the day with us and come nose to beak with playful penguins, get eye to eye with awesome otters, explore the human body, experience Mother Nature’s fury and fun, and encounter exotic animals like tigers, meerkats, and lemurs!

Leave a Reply

